JustinxBrisby or Not?

Well, does anybody else think think that there is enough Justin and Mrs. Brisby pairings already? For me, I didn’t mind it so much, but I studied more closely, I noticed some problems, obvious as they are. First off, they’re too different species wise: a human have DNA 98-99% compatible with a primate’s, and yet they cannot breed. The same is true for mice and rats, and I highly doubt it work as part of a story really. Here’s a link explaining why: http://www.ratbehavior.org/RatMouseHybrid.htm.

Also, Justin’s in charge of Thorn Valley with Nicodemus gone so he might not even have time for Mrs. Brisby. In fact, due to the fact that Mrs. Brisby is an ordinary mouse and would only live for one or two more years, she would even grow old and die meaning that Justin wouldn’t spend as much time with her.

Also, many writers fall under the fallacy during the “lights scene” that Justin and Mrs. Brisby are falling in loving with each other. It doesn’t seem right that somebody’s friend would go after his wife, even if you think that person would “not mind” after he has dies, it would breaking the honor that friend’s commitment to that person—in essence, a final “screw you, I can do it because I can and she wants me”. I also do not like the fact that if Justin does marry her, she’d no longer be “Mrs. Brisby”, and I think if it were to happen, it might alienate fans greatly.

As “Jam” said on the old Thorn Valley Forum: “In my oppinion I do NOT think they would have been a "couple" of sorts but much rather like "friends". I have observed that many Nimh fans say the same thing for just about the same reasons. In the "Kiss" scene shown above at the start of this topic I think that Mrs Brisby came to see Justin as a rat of Charm, Politeness and generaly a very well spoken and charismatic individule who perhaps in some way reminds her of Johnathon.